[세미나] [전기전자세미나] 10월 26일 Metaconductor for Energy Efficient 5G Communications and Millimeter Wave Applications

2017-10-19l Hit 7251

825. Metaconductor for Energy Efficient 5G Communications and Millimeter Wave Applications


¾연사: 윤용규 (University of Florida / Associate Professor)

¾일시: 2017년 10월 26일(목) 오후 5:00~6:00

¾장소: 서울대학교 제1공학관(301동) 118호



Modern electronics is adopting broadband frequencies as their operating/clocking/carrier frequencies to meet ever increasing data transfer and fast computation requirements. For example, the fifth generation (5G) wireless communications are supposed to choose one of the millimeter wave frequencies as their carrier frequency such as 28 GHz, 38 GHz, or 60 GHz. It is known that electrical interconnects, transmission lines, passive components made of homogeneous conductors such as solid copper and aluminum suffer from high conductor losses associated with the skin effect as the operation frequency increases, and therefore it is unavoidable to experience high power consumption. In this talk, nano-inspired metaconductors with zero magnetic permeability consisting of alternating non-ferromagnetic and ferromagnetic metal layers are designed to suppress the skin effect and therefore realize a low loss conductor condition in microwave frequency bands. Material selection, geometrical architecture, and fabrication consideration for optimal low loss conductors are discussed. As a test vehicle, Ka-band inductors made of metaconductors with a quality factor of 50 or greater at 28 GHz are demonstrated. Design, fabrication, and characterization of such devices are detailed. Impacts on future 5G communications and low power consumption electronics applications are prospected.



  • 학력

    2004   Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology

    1994   M.S. in Electrical Engineering, Seoul National University

    1992   B.S. in Electrical Engineering, Seoul National University

  • 주요경력

    2010- now : Dept. of Electrical and Computer Eng. University of Florida (Associate Professor)

    2006-2010: Dept. of Electrical Eng. State University of New York, (Assistant Professor)

    2004-2006: Georgia Institute of Technology, (Postdoctoral position)

  • 상   훈

    NSF Early Career Development Award (CAREER)

SUNY Young Investigator Award