Prof. Deog-Kyoon Jeong, SNU names 8 endowed-chair professors… In fields including econometrics, semiconductors, and dielectrics (The Seoul Economic Daily, 2020.08.31.)

2021-01-08l Hit 152

SNU bestowed the honor of endowed chairs to eight professors to support the research of faculty members world-renowned for their academic achievements. Chair holders will receive research funding and will be the first to be considered for the special sabbatical year program.


On the 31st, SNU announced that eight professors would be endowed chair holders beginning on September 1st: △Professor Ki-Ho Song (Department of Korean History), △Professor Yoon-Jae Whang (Economics) △Professor Tae-won Noh (Physics and Astronomy) △Professor V. Narry Kim (Biological Sciences) △Professor Cheol Seong Hwang (Materials Science and Engineering) △Professor Deog-Kyoon Jeong (Electrical and Computer Engineering) △Professor Taeghwan Hyeon (Chemical and Biological Engineering) △Professor Yong-Hwan Lee (Agriculture and Life Sciences). They will receive research funding and will be the first to be considered for the special sabbatical year program.


According to SNU, Professor Ki-Ho Song is a researcher of Korean history. He has conducted research on the history of Balhae and life and published more than a hundred articles and over sixty books. Professor Yoon-Jae Whang is an expert in econometrics, where mathematical and statistical methods are used for economic theory. His method of statistical inference on stochastic dominance is the key method of data-based policy evaluation.


Professor Tae-won Noh studied metal oxides for thirty years, with notable achievements including illuminating the basic mechanism of metal oxides. Professor V. Narry Kim is acknowledged worldwide for explaining micro RNA’s generation principle, action mechanism, and biological function and thus improving the understanding on gene control of stem cells and cancer cells. Currently, she is leading the field of molecular biology, for instance, by creating a map of the coronavirus genome.


Professor Cheol Seong Hwang published 624 SCI papers and supervised a hundred students who obtained their Ph.D. or Master’s Degree in the area semiconductor devices, material, and processing. He contributed to strengthening Korea’s semiconductors through active co-work with the industry and advice on government policies. Professor Deog-Kyoon Jeong is a global authority in the field of designing fast digital circuits. He developed an original technology to digitally transfer high-resolution images without loss that was selected as the international standard.


Professor Taeghwan Hyeon published over 400 papers in renowned journals in the field of nano material synthesis and medical/energy field applications. The heat-up process to mass-produce uniform nanoparticles that he proposed became the standard method of synthesizing nanoparticles. Professor Yong-Hwan Lee completed a platform that can efficiently control plant diseases by investigating rice blast disease to understand the mechanism of plant diseases. He approached the issue from multiple fields such as plant pathology, genomics, and bioinformatics.


To become an endowed-chair professor are that the person is a full-time professor at the time and was awarded the Nobel Prize or an international academic award of similar status, received an award from an international organization for contributing to the advance of human society, is of a character worthy of respect and is renowned both in Korea and worldwide for notable achievements in a field of expertise in which he or she worked for ten years or more, or otherwise considered worthy of the endowed-chair by the endowed-chair committee. More chair holders will be named so that by 2022, the number will amount to 1% of the number of full-time faculty members(around 20 in total).



Translated by: Jee Hyun Lee, English Editor of Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,